Jess on Pop: Sully

I want to write about movies from time to time. I’ll always put the title in my blog title, so if you’re not interested, feel free to pass it on by. This first post is about Sully. 

When I was young I never wanted to see a Clint Eastwood movie, and Tom Hanks was just beginning his career. Both would become to me, like so many others, a staple of Pop Culture. Yet even to say it that way, I feel I’ve cheapened these gentlemen, as though in order to bring them their due credit, I ought to drop the “Pop,” because these are two artists who’ve gone way beyond Popular.  They are, quite literally, integrated into American culture. 

Tom Hanks goes without saying.  I’ve never seen something of his that I have not enjoyed; and I imagine it would be quite something to know him in private life. He does not seem to me to be the kind of actor who picks movies just to make a buck. Of course, it probably helps that he has more bucks than the average American citizen, member in good standing of Pop culture or not.  Sully was no different for me. While it does not stick out to me like Toy Story or Forrest Gump or Philadelphia, the latter of which I will never watch again (although that might be a story for a later time)  it is still Tom Hanks, and therefore it is awesome. It’s like math, dig?

For Clint Eastwood, I did not become convinced of his invincibility until the release of Space Cowboys in 2000. Oh how that movie made me laugh, and my grandma liked it too. She was my movie partner for all time. I’m not sure if she is the reason or if the age difference between my sister and I is/was the reason, but my relationship with cinema is only beaten by the familial ones that came before it.  Million Dollar Baby, Gran Torino, and, going back in time, Paint Your Wagon are among my favorites. 

Anyway, probably all of you know what Sully is about, and if not then get off your keister and IMDB that shit. It’s a great movie, as I knew it would be.  Tom Hanks is flawless and Clint Eastwood’s direction is, to me at least, evident throughout the entire film. I very much admire Mr Eastwood because he is so integrated into the business of cinema. You can tell that he loves it. And not just being in front of a camera, but behind it as well, and practically enveloped in the music. I don’t know if it’s common knowledge that he has written and performed some of the theme music for his films, but it is true that he has done so.  The one in Gran Turino is my particular favorite, although, I could definitely feel his presence throughout Sully as I sat in the theater today. 

Movies, as you will learn if you weren’t lucky enough to spend your life with me, are my favorite thing. And sure I love to watch them at home on the off chance that I decide to exercise; but what I really love is the cinema. Going to the movies. I love to be a part of the audience and see those heroes of mine on a 60 foot screen. 

 I’m glad that, as I’ve grown older and changed so much about myself and the things I love and enjoy doing, I’ve never lost that love. That magical feeling that one only gets from Going to The Movies. And only if one is slightly off kilter to begin with. 

It is my belief that once a person is so grown up and responsible and sane that their childhood literally feels like another life, there is no more magic.  It is necessary to hang on to the 7 Great Abilities and Facsinations, (to quote another great TH movie, Radio Flyer. Bring your effing Kleenex folks) in order to hang on to some magic.  Or, as Audrey Hepburn as Holly Golightly says, “to keep my hand in,” when explaining why she likes to steal from a five and ten. 

Hang on to whatever puts the magic in your life. For me, it’s the movies.  Ask anyone who has ever loved me and they’ll tell you I once bored the shit out of them talking about a film that I love.  And do you think I don’t know they’re bored? Or that I care? Nope. Like I said baby, off kilter. 

I can dig that. 

Leave a Reply

